Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Text Size

Site Search


for Mission Citizens Awards



for Employment Opportunities

More News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Local Weather

Current Conditions:
Mostly Cloudy, 81 F

Mon - Thunderstorms Late. High: 85 Low: 75
Tue - PM Thunderstorms. High: 91 Low: 75
Wed - Isolated Thunderstorms. High: 92 Low: 76
Thu - PM Thunderstorms. High: 89 Low: 76
Fri - PM Thunderstorms. High: 85 Low: 75

Full Forecast at Yahoo! Weather

(provided by The Weather Channel)

Lions Club holds 88th annual installation banquet

20130626 Mission Lions Club Banquet lg-1The Mission Lions Club held their 88th annual installation of officers and awards banquet on Wednesday, June 26, at Balli’s Social and Event Center in Mission, with Heather Marks as the guest speaker.

Marks works with the American Cancer Society and spoke on her life experiences with ovarian cancer and the looming possibility of breast cancer. Marks developed ovarian cancer in her twenties and through current testing procedures was recently identified as a high risk candidate for breast cancer. She underwent a double mastectomy a preventive measure.

During the meeting, slides and a video were shown of the club’s first of what is to be an annual Mud Volleyball Tournament held in June with over 40 teams participating.

Ramiro Hernandez installed the officers for the coming year, which include Lee Jones, president; Minnie Rodgers, first vice president; Gilbert Sanchez, second vice president; Keith Gerlach, third vice president; Ron D’Andrea, treasurer; Ramiro Hernandez, assistant treasurer; Elvia Gonzalez, secretary; Tim Milam, Lion Tamer; and Mark Moseley, Tail Twister. As outgoing president, Jared Marks was presented with a plaque for his term.

Incoming board members are Rosie Sterling and Luciano Guerra, second year directors; Dr. Don Reinhardt and Stan Marley, first year directors; Jared Marks, membership director; and Adela Ortega, bingo director.

A new member induction ceremony was held for Rosie Sterling and Matt Mierzycki, and Sterling was recognized by the club as “Lion of the Year.”

This year’s recipients for the Melvin Jones Fellowship, Lions Club International Foundation’s highest honor, were Jared Marks and Luciano Guerra.

Members receiving the Gene Alszewski Award from the Corpus Christi Eye Glass Recycling Center were Maxilou Link, Mark Moseley, Charles Zey and Minnie Rodgers.

Jack Wiech Fellowship recipients were Luciano Guerra, Maxilou Link, Stan Marley, Henry Schaefer, Esmer Flores, M. Elvia Gonzalez, Bill Leidner and Vidal Rodriguez.

Tim Milam and Dr. Sparks were awarded the Founder’s Tribute Award from the Leader Dogs for the Blind.

From the Lions Eye Bank of Texas Rosie Sterling, Gilbert Sanchez, Berta Filut, Keith Gerlach and Shawn Gerlach were presented Life Member plaques and Stan Marley received the Eddie Munger Fellowship.

Dr. Reinhardt was recipient for the Low Vision Fellowship for the Low Vision Eye Center; Luciano Guerra and Jim Brunson were given the Silver Cane Award from World Services for the Blind; and M. Elvia Gonzalez and Bill Leidner were presented the Texas Lions Fellow Award.

Members recognized for 100 percent attendance: Ron D’Andrea, Luciano Guerra, Ramiro Hernandez, Jared Marks, Stan Marley, Tim Milam, Mark Moseley, Dr. Reinhardt and Dr. Kevin Sparks were recognized for 100 percent attendance.

Advertising Information

CoverageAreaThe Progress Times is the hometown newspaper for the local communities of Mission, Sharyland, Alton, Palmview, La Joya and surrounding areas in Western Hidalgo County. We have a staff of veteran reporters who work diligently every week to bring our readers the latest news as it affects their hometown area and people.

More Information...