Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Text Size

Site Search


for Mission Citizens Awards



for Employment Opportunities

More News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Local Weather

Current Conditions:
Fair, 77 F

Wed - Partly Cloudy. High: 92 Low: 76
Thu - Partly Cloudy. High: 92 Low: 77
Fri - PM Thunderstorms. High: 90 Low: 75
Sat - Scattered Thunderstorms. High: 88 Low: 75
Sun - PM Thunderstorms. High: 87 Low: 75

Full Forecast at Yahoo! Weather

(provided by The Weather Channel)

Early voting for 2012 primary run-off elections began July 23, ends today

AUSTIN — Texas Secretary of State Hope Andrade announced Friday that early voting in the 2012 primary run-off elections begin Monday, July 23 and run through Friday, July 27.

“Every election is important and an opportunity for Texas voters to exercise their voice in setting the course for the future of our great state,” Andrade said. “I urge voters to take full advantage of the ease and convenience of voting early by making it a part of your summer plans.”

During early voting voters may vote at any polling place in their county of residence, choosing a time and place that is most convenient for their schedule. Voters who participated in the May 29, 2012 primary elections must vote in the same party’s run-off election in which they voted in May. Voters who did not cast a ballot in the primary elections may vote in either party’s run-off election.

Additionally, photo identification as required in Senate Bill 14 will not be required in early voting or on election day. To cast a ballot during early voting or on election day, voters should present their voter registration card or in lieu of a voter registration card, at least one of the following:

  • A driver’s license or personal identification card issued to you by the Texas Department of Public Safety or a similar document issued to you by an agency of another state, even if the license or card has expired;
  • A form of identification containing your photograph and establishing your identity;
  • A birth certificate or other document confirming birth that is admissible in a court of law and establishes the person’s identity;
  • Your United States citizenship papers;
  • Your United States passport;
  • Official mal addressed to you by a governmental entity; or
  • A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.

Here is a list of who’s going to be on the ballot:

  • Republican: United States Senator, Ted Cruz vs. David Dewhurst;
  • Republican: United States Representative District 15, Eddie Zamora vs. Dale A Brueggemann;
  • Republican: Railroad Commissioner, Warren Chisum vs. Christi Craddick;
  • Republican: Railroad Commissioner, Unexpired Term, Barry Smitherman vs. Greg Parker;
  • Republican: Justice, Supreme Court, Place 4, John Devine vs. David Medina;
  • Republican: Precinct Chair, Precinct 62: Jack York vs. Marian Della Maggiora;
  • Democrat: United States Senator: Grady Yarborough vs. Paul Sadler;
  • Democrat: Member, State Board of Education, District 2, Ruben Cortez, Jr. vs. Celeste Zepeda Sanchez;
  • Democrat: Judge, County Court at Law, No. 7, Nereyda Morales-Martinez vs. Sergio Valdez;
  • Democrat: Constable, Precinct No. 2, Martin “Marty” Cantu vs. Gilbert “Chato” Alaniz;
  • Democrat: County Chairman, John Peña vs. Kelly Rivera Salazar;
  • Democrat: Precinct Chair, Precinct 122: Griselda M. Chaves vs. Guadalupe Rivera;

Advertising Information

CoverageAreaThe Progress Times is the hometown newspaper for the local communities of Mission, Sharyland, Alton, Palmview, La Joya and surrounding areas in Western Hidalgo County. We have a staff of veteran reporters who work diligently every week to bring our readers the latest news as it affects their hometown area and people.

More Information...