Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


Early voting for the Nov. 6 general election starts Monday, Oct. 22. During early voting, voters can vote at any polling site in their county. Mobile locations will also be provided.

Besides the presidential election, voters will be casting their votes on the $184 million drainage bond; United States Senator and United State Representative District 28; Railroad Commissioner; Justice Supreme Court Place 2, 4, and 6; presiding judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7 and Place 8; member, State Board of Education, District 3; State Senator, District 20; State Representative, District 35; Chief Justice, 13th Court of Appeals District 13, and Place 2, 4 and 5; District Judge, 92nd, 93rd, 139th, 332nd, 389th, 398th, 430th, and 449th Judicial Districts; and County Sheriff.

Early voting substation locations in Mission include Mission City Hall, 1201 E. 8th Street, and Fire Station #3, 1804 N. Shary Rd.

La Joya voters can go to the Economic Development Center at 105 N. Michael.

Palmview voters can vote at County Commission Precinct #3 Office at 724 N. Breyfogle Rd.

The Church of Christ in Palmhurst, 1410 E. 3 Mile Line, will also be open for early voting.

In Sullivan City, voters can early vote at the Sullivan City Fire Station, 500 Cenizo.

If you work in McAllen and want to stop by a voting location during lunch, early voting locations open include Lark Community Center, 2601 Lark Avenue; McAllen Tax Office, 311 N. 15th Street; Palmer Pavilion, 301 E. Hackberry; and Palmview Community Center, 3401 Jordan Avenue.

Edinburg locations open will be the Elections Annex Building, 317 N. Closner and UTPA Student Union Building, 1201 W. University.

All early voting locations will be open Oct. 22 through Nov. 2, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. except for Sunday Oct. 28 when polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The Advocacy Alliance Center of Texas will also be helping with a mobile unit where voters can cast their early vote.

Mission Regional Medical Center will host the mobile unit on Oct. 26, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The mobile unit will be at Med Aid Pharmacy on Oct. 24, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Med Aid is located at 1022 E. Griffin Pkwy., in Mission.

The mobile unit will be in Peñitas on Oct. 27, at Pueblo de Palmas, 17927 Washington Palm Drive, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The mobile unit will also be in several locations in McAllen, including First National Bank, 7201 N. 10th St., on Oct. 15; VFW Post 8788 on Oct. 27; Lone Star National Bank, Oct. 30; and STC Main Campus, Oct. 22, 3201 W. Pecan. Hours will be 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at each of these sites.

On Oct. 25 the mobile unit will visit Briarcliff Nursing and Rehab Center, 3201 N. Ware Rd., 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and McAllen Medical Center, 301 W. Expressway 83, 1:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. On Nov. 2, the mobile unit will be at McAllen Heart Hospital, 1900 S. D Street, 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

On Oct. 22 and 29, the mobile unit will be located at the Hidalgo County Courthouse, 100 N. Closner, in Edinburg. Hours will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Other Edinburg locations include Edinburg City Hall, 415 W. University Drive, 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Oct. 23; Hidalgo County Old Administration, 100 E. Cano, 1:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., Oct. 23; Nov. 2 at the Hidalgo County New Administration, 2800 S. Business Highway 281, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, 5501 S. McColl Rd., 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Oct. 23.

Hidalgo County Sheriff’s Office, 711 E. El Cibolo Rd., 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Oct. 26; County Commissioner Precinct #4 Office, 1051 N. Doolittle Rd., 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Oct. 29; Edinburg Regional/Children’s Hospital, 1102 W. Trenton, 1:30 to 7 p.m., Oct. 29; Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Oct. 30; Oct. 31, 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Hidalgo County Health Department, 1304 S. 25th Ave.; South Texas Behavioral Health, 2102 W. Trenton Rd., 1:30 to 6:30 p.m., Oct. 31; and Cornerstone Regional Hospital, 2302 Cornerstone Blvd., 2 p.m. to 7 p.m., Nov. 2.

To find out where the mobile unit will be stopping at in Weslaco, Pharr, and San Juan, visit or call 664-2228 or 1-855-411-2228.

On Election Day, voters will have to go to their respective precinct voting location. Voters need to be aware that because of redistricting changes, your voting district may have changed.

For general information, call the Hidalgo County Elections Department at 318-2570.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Related Articles x
Local News
  • 09/05/2014
  • By Julie Silva

La Joya ISD begins work on sports complex

Months after purchasing Martin Valley Ranch Golf Course, La Joya ISD is preparing to turn the property into a sports complex that could rival facilities around the state. La Joya Independent School...

  • 08/22/2014
  • By News Service

2014 Hawk Watch begins next month

Join Bentsen State Park naturalists and volunteers as they spot and count thousands of migrating raptors during the annual Hawk Watch. It takes place at the Hawk Tower, Thursdays through Sundays in...

Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required