Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Text Size

Site Search


for Mission Citizens Awards



for Employment Opportunities

More News

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Local Weather

John Calvillo Named Pharmacist of the Year

20120810 john calvilloJohn P. CalvilloThe Texas Pharmacy Association named Mission’s John P. Calvillo, owner of Med-Aid Pharmacy, as Pharmacist of the Year.

According to the association, Calvillo possesses a record of unquestionable integrity, outstanding service to the local or state association and a personal record of exemplary service to the pharmacy community.

“As part of our process, TPA asks for nominations from the field for each of our ten awards,” said Texas Pharmacy Association Chief Executive Officer Joe A. DaSilva. “Pharmacist of the year is one of the two most prestigious recognitions. Our awards committee reviews the nominations, considers others that were not nominated and makes a selection based on the subjective parameters noted above.”

Sandra Nelson, director of governance and operations for the Texas Pharmacy Association, said Calvillo received the award during the 2012 Rxperts Conference & Expo at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott on July 7, just north of Houston.

Advertising Information

CoverageAreaThe Progress Times is the hometown newspaper for the local communities of Mission, Sharyland, Alton, Palmview, La Joya and surrounding areas in Western Hidalgo County. We have a staff of veteran reporters who work diligently every week to bring our readers the latest news as it affects their hometown area and people.

More Information...