Sign up for our Newsletter today
and keep up-to-date with all your local news!


Roadrunners add Derek Marshall to roster

EDINBURG --The Edinburg Roadrunners of the North American League announced Wednesday that they have signed catcher Derek Marshall and have released infielder Jason Thomas.


Memmert lifts Roadrunners past Thunder

EDINBURG, Texas—Gabe Memmert hit a two-run walk-off home run in the bottom of the 10th to give the Edinburg Roadrunners the 6-5 victory over the McAllen Thunder Friday night at Edinburg Baseball Stadium.

The Roadrunners (22-27) grabbed the early lead in the bottom of the first with an RBI fielder’s choice by Osiel Flores that allowed C.J. Beatty to score making it 1-0.


Sharyland’s Gutierrez and Coach Bickerton lead All-Valley list

20110715-Sharyland_ERIC-GUTIERREZThe rumor is Coach Bickerton is already looking forward to next spring. Now July, Bickerton and his ball club are a couple of months past finishing the greatest baseball season in Sharyland High School history.

For his efforts in leading the 28-2 Rattlers to a District 30-5A, Bickerton was not only named the district’s coach of the year but also the Valley’s best as well.


Sharyland tops All-District picks

Eric Gutierrez named District MVP

shraryland-logoDispite a disappointing bi-district loss to Laredo United, the Sharyland Rattlers baseball team had an outstanding season – 13-0 in district play – supported by a top-notch lineup of players. The recently released all-district list proves the point, as the Rattlers led the district with the most selections: eleven placements on the first and second teams.

Pitcher and utility player Eric Gutierrez, along with his coach Bart Bickerton, led the team in award hardware. Gutierrez was named District 30-5A MVP and Bickerton was honored as the Coach of the Year for helping the Rattlers obtain a 28-2 overall record and a 13-0 district record. Gutierrez’s strong hitting percentage of .566 went along with 58 RBIs helped him earn the top honor.

Six other Sharyland ball players joined their coach and star player on the all-district list. Second baseman Francisco Martinez, third baseman Brian Valencia, catcher Erik Garcia, outfielders Oscar Gonzalez and Fernie Martinez and designated hitter Erasmo Valdez all made the first team. Martinez also made the second team as a pitcher.


Razorbacks excited about Navarro

20100730_Clarissa-Navarro-Baseball_003Just less than a year ago this sports page wrote a detailed feature on one of La Joya’s greatest female athletes ever: softball all-star Clarissa Navarro. At the time, Navarro was coming off a prolific high school career full of district championships, MVP trophies and placements on the all-state team.

A year later, the success continues.

Navarro just completed her first year of college softball at Butler Community College in Kansas and, just as she did at La Joya, Navarro dominated. Clarissa led her team in stolen bases and batting average, in addition to being second in RBIs and third in homeruns. In fact, of all the non-pitching categories, Ms. Navarro was in the top three of all of them.

In short, Clarissa is again playing in a league in which she is above her competitor’s level.


Roadrunners pound Thunder

EDINBURG, Texas—The Edinburg Roadrunners smashed out 19 hits en route to a 12-1 victory over the McAllen Thunder Wednesday night at Edinburg Baseball Stadium.

Toro Trevino (3-1) picked up the win after allowing one run on three hits in eight innings pitched while striking out three and walking none.


Please complete all fields.

By subscribing you acknowledge notification of this site’s privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules, and agree to all privacy policies, terms and conditions, and drawing rules posted on this site. Please see our drawing rules here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required