Skip to content

Mission citizens awards nominations now open

The Progress Times announced today that nominations are now open for the annual citizens awards for Mr. Mission, First Lady of Mission, Man of the Year and Woman of the Year. Jim Brunson, publisher of the Progress Times, announced that nominations for the awards will be accepted until 4 p.m., Sept. 25 at the newspaper office.

The annual awards will be presented at the Mission Chamber of Commerce banquet on Thursday, Oct. 16 at Mario’s Banquet & Conference Center in Mission.

20131018 Citizen-Awards-Composite“We invite clubs, organizations and individuals to submit nominations for the citizens awards,” said Brunson. “These awards are designed to recognize and honor those who have devoted their time and effort to help others and to make Mission a better place to live, raise our families and to provide opportunity for our residents. You know who works hardest in your organization. Send in your nominations and recognize those who have served so well.”

While a resume for the nominee is helpful, it is not required. Just provide a description of the ways the nominee has served the community, along with your name and phone number.

Nominations may be submitted in person at the Progress Times office at 1217 N. Conway or by mail to Citizens Awards, Progress Times, P.O. Box 399, Mission, Texas 78573. Nomi­nations may also be submitted by email to or by fax to 956-585-2304.

Links to forms:
Selection Criteria
Nomination Form
Previous Recipients
Email nominations to

Man and Woman of Year

Selection criteria for Man of the Year and Woman of the Year are as follows:

To be recognized for supe­rior service either for a signifi­cant project or continuing broad service to the commu­nity in the past two to 10 years. This may be for work with one organization or for work in several different areas or orga­nizations. The combined dura­tion of service should span no less than two years.

May be for work in civic, church or com­munity groups, if these labors have had significant impact on the citizens of Mission.

Must be a resident of Mis­sion or work in Mission.

Service will be measured in terms of its impact on the entire community as a whole as well as to a particular orga­nization.

Mr. Mission and First Lady

Selection criteria for Mr. Mission and First Lady of Mis­sion are the following:

Must have provided long term service to Mission through a civic or church group or  endeavor, or through charitable or benevolent serv­ice to the community, or a combination of these factors.

Service most be ongoing and cover a minimum of 11 years.

Length of service, character and integrity will be among considerations.

Value of service to the community in general is the primary factor.

Must live, work or have significant busi­ness interests in Mission.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must include the nominee’s name, address and phone number as well as the qualifications of the indi­vidual. Qualifications may include positions and offices held, number of years of serv­ice and a description of the serv­ice the individual has given. Also, list any honors the individual has received, whether civic, church, or pro­fessional. Include a description of what is particularly out­standing about this indi­vidual. Also, include the name and telephone number of the per­son submitting the nomination. Any person who works or resides in Mission can submit a nomination.

In addition to being available online, the nomination forms and criteria may also be picked up at the Progress Times office located at 1217 N. Conway. To request forms to be faxed or emailed, call 956-585-4893. Email requests should be sent to

Last year’s award recipients were Beatriz Tijerina, First Lady of Mission; Ben Olivarez, Mr. Mission; Heather Marks, Woman of the Year, and Richard Hernandez, Man of the Year.

Tickets for the chamber banquet may be purchased at the Mission Chamber of Commerce, located at 202 W. Tom Landry, phone 585-2727.

Leave a Comment