Skip to content

Mission council prepares to annex land

The Mission City Council began proceedings to annex two tracts of land at its Monday, Dec. 14, meeting.

Tract A includes all of Lots 32-1,32-2, 31-2 and the north 30 acres of lot 30-2, West Addition to Sharyland including all lot in Basham No. 2 Subdivision, Vela-Zamora Subdivision, Alex Cavazos Subdivision and Premier Subdivision. Tract B includes lots, two, three, four and six of Mission Farm Estates.

City-of-Mission-logoFinal adoption of the land into the city is scheduled for Jan. 11.

In other action, a conditional use permit for a drive-thru service window at T-Rey’s Convenience Store, 2502 W. Business 83, was approved. The site is the northwest corner of Paisano Street and Business 83.

A request by residents of a neighborhood that an abandoned canal right-of-way be converted into a public street was approved; although council members said it would take time to plan and create the street. The area to be served is a small neighborhood of seven property owners one-fourth mile south of Griffin parkway along the west side of Los Ebanos.

The tax collection report for October had the adjusted tax levy at $17,355,466.31. Collections to date are $48,340.47 or 0.28 percent of the total levy. Collections stood at $215,589.20 or 1.31 percent.

Ordinance No. 3522 designated Fire Station No. 3, 1804 N. Shary Road, as the new polling place for voting for Precinct 63 on Election Day. Currently, voting is held at Castro Elementary but research showed that 2,311 of the precinct’s residents resided in the Sharyland area while only 953 were located in the area near Castro Elementary.

Also, the council reviewed board appointments and made recommendations for changes on some boards. Mario Lizcano, Javier Ireguas and Ignacio Pecina were all reappointed to the Ambulance Board.

Irma Fernik, Rosie B. Lopez, Hector Leal, Lupe Ozuna, Severo Rodriguez and Roel Rivera were all reappointed to the Citizen’s Advisory Board.

Rosalinda Gonzalez was reappointed to the Civil Service Commission.

Oton “Tony” Guerrero and Pat Townsend Sr. were reappointed to the Parks and Recreation Board.

Jose Guadalupe Vela was reappointed to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Carlos Lopez will replace Raul Sesin and Rene A. Flores will replace Henry Rodriguez.

Richard Hernandez and Tony O’Cana were reappointed to the Shary Golf Course Advisory Board.

Lina Cantu Cruz, Ann Whitfield and Linda Fraser were reappointed to the Speer Memorial Library Board. Cynthia Leon will replace Mary Ellen Salinas, who resigned.

Eunice Sanchez and Hector Leal were reappointed to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Board (TIRZ). David Crook will replace Martha Tagle and Joel A. Gonzalez will replace Geoff Hall.

Rey Garza, Robert Garza and Jerry Cruz were reappointed to the Traffic Safety Committee.

Richard Hernandez was reappointed to the Youth Advocacy Advisory Board.

Jorge Garcia was reappointed to the Zoning Board of Adjustments as a member while Jon D. Lowen was reappointed as an alternate. Ned Sheats was appointed to fill the vacant position.

City staff was authorized to accept an energy efficiency and conservation block grant in the amount of $629,500. The money will be used to upgrade traffic signal lights, pedestrian walk signals and streetlights along Expressway 83 with LED lights. Use of the new lights is estimated to save the city 85 to 90 percent in energy costs for those lights.

In a related action, staff was authorized to solicit bids for the purchase of electrical materials to upgrade all traffic signals, pedestrian walk signals and streetlights along Expressway 83 to LED.

The council approved a change order for repairs of train filters in the downtown Mission Water Treatment Plant and a new building with parking at the proposed north Mission Water Treatment Plant. The change order will increase the project by $1,536,350 changing the low bid of $6,207,000 to $7,743,350. It will also add 120 workdays to the project for a total of 600 days. Engineer Fred Kurth said the city wanted to take advantage of a zero interest loan the city received by doing as much work as they possibly could with the funds available.

A contract for waterline maintenance supplies with HD Supply Waterworks was extended one year with an eight percent increase for brass service material.

A contract with Fred’s Electrical Service Inc. for purchase of electrical repair and maintenance was approved for a second year. There were no price increases.

The bid for self-contained breathing apparatuses was awarded to Hoyt Breathing Air Products for $236,812.05.

Celso Gonzalez Construction received the bid for repairing the roof at the Mission Historical Museum in the amount of $33,900.

A one-year extension of an interlocal agreement between the City of Mission and Texas A&M-Kingsville for the Regional Task Force dealing with Texas Commission of Environmental Quality Phase II storm water rules and assistance in complying with the Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System.

A change order for the North Bryan Lift Station resulted in a cost reduction of $14,902.39, dropping the project cost of $803,07.61.

The council voted to cancel the second December council meeting because it falls of December 28 during the Christmas holidays.

Ordinance No. 3524 was approved setting the official speed limit for the Anzalduas Bridge as 45 miles per hour.

Ordinance No. 3525 created a three-way stop intersection at Rio Grande Drive and Glasscock Road.

Ordinance No. 3526 created a three-way stop intersection at Rio Grande Drive and Frio Drive.

Ordinance No. 3527 created a four-way stop at Glasscock Road as it intersects with Rio Balsas and Jonathon Drive.

Mayor Beto Salinas was authorized to nominate a Mission resident to be inducted into the Rio Grande Valley Walk of Fame. The winner will be honored during a ceremony that takes place in conjunction with Border Fest in March.

Leave a Comment