Skip to content

2019 Mission citizens awards nominations now open

The Progress Times announced today that nominations are now open for the annual citizens awards for Mr. Mission First Lady of Mission, Man of the Year and Woman of the Year. Dee Rendon, publisher of the Progress Times, announced that nominations for the awards will be accepted until 5 p.m., Sept. 13 at the newspaper office.

New this year as the “Spirit of Mission” award, which recognizes a local organization that will have a lasting legacy in the city. The annual awards will be presented at the Mission Chamber of Commerce banquet on Thursday, October 18 at the Mission Event Center.

20181005 BanquetPreviewClubs, organizations and individuals are encouraged to submit nominations for the citizens awards. These awards are designed to recognize and honor those who have devoted their time and effort to help others and to make Mission a better place to live, raise our families and to provide opportunity for our residents. Send in your nominations and recognize those who have served so well.

While a resume for the nominee is helpful, it is not required. Just provide a description of the ways the nominee has served the community, along with your name and phone number.

Nominations may be submitted in person at the Progress Times office at 1217 N. Conway or by mail to Citizens Awards, Progress Times, P.O. Box 399, Mission, Texas 78573. Nominations may also be submitted by email to or by fax to 956-585-2304 and online.

Mr. Mission and First Lady
Selection criteria for Mr. Mission and First Lady of Mission are the following:

Must have provided long term service to Mission through a civic or church group or endeavor, or through charitable or benevolent service to the community, or a combination of these factors.

Service must be ongoing and cover a minimum of 11 years.
Length of service, character and integrity will be among considerations.

Value of service to the community in general is the primary factor.

Must live, work or have significant business interests in Mission.

Man and Woman of the Year
Selection criteria for Man of the Year and Woman of the Year are as follows:

To be recognized for superior service either for a significant project or continuing broad service to the community in the past two to 10 years. This may be for work with one organization or for work in several different areas or organizations. The combined duration of service should span no less than two years.

May be for work in civic, church or community groups, if these labors have had significant impact on the citizens of Mission.

Must be a resident of Mission or work in Mission.

Service will be measured in terms of its impact on the entire community as a whole as well as to a particular organization.

Spirit of Mission Award
New this year is the Spirit of Mission Award, which recognizes Mission-based clubs and organizations who positively impact the community.

Selection criteria for the Spirit of Mission Award is as follows:

Must be a club or organization based in Mission or serves the city and its residents. Must have been in existence for at least 10 years.

Nomination Procedure
Nominations must include the nominee’s name, address and phone number as well as the qualifications of the individual. Qualifications may include positions and offices held, number of years of service and a description of the service the individual has given.

Also, list any honors the individual has received, whether civic, church, or professional. Include a description of what is particularly outstanding about this individual. Also, include the name and telephone number of the person submitting the nomination. Any person who works or resides in Mission can submit a nomination.

In addition to being available to submit online, the nomination forms and criteria may also be picked up at the Progress Times office located at 1217 N. Conway. To request forms to be faxed or emailed, call 956-585-4893. Nomination forms can also be found here. Email requests should be sent to

Last year’s award ceremony honored Brad Bentsen and Maxilou Link as Mr. Mission and First Lady of Mission, respectively.

Tickets for the chamber banquet may be purchased at the Mission Chamber of Commerce, located at 202 W. Tom Landry, phone 585-2727.

Leave a Comment