Skip to content

Students place at Special Olympics basketball competition

Mission C.I.S.D. (MCISD) competed and placed in the Area 1-Special Olympics Texas Basketball Competition on Feb. 17 at Sharyland Pioneer High School. A total of 47 athletes competed, interacted, and cheered along with 21 other schools and agencies from around the region.

The competition was broken down into two events: Basketball Individuals Skills and Team Competition. For the individual skills competition the athletes performed a timed 10-meter dribble, a target pass drill, and a spot shooting drill. Eight teams competed in a round robin tournament for the team competition.

20180316 special olympicsIndividuals Skills Competition results are as follows:

Mission High (MHS): First place – Vianney Campos, Carlos Gutierrez, Ramiro Olivarez, Noah Flores and Ana Villarreal; Second place – Brandon Garza and Raylene Vela; and Third place – Marcus Eguia, Jaqueline Porcayo and Adrian Rodriguez.

Veteran’s Memorial High (VMHS: First place – Cesario Peña and Kevin Cab; Second place – Emily Gonzalez; and Third place – Sally Treviño, Jazmin Villanueva, Deah Marmolejo and Alfonso Sanchez.

Mission Jr. High: First place – Jamilee Hernandez and Shila Gomez; Second place – Yulitza Mendoza and Stephanie Gomez; and Third place – Arely Lopez, Mark Carrasco and Angel Rivera.

Ralph Cantu Jr. High: Second place – Leonardo Marroquin, Emiliano Ramos, Gerardo Obregon and Valerie Longoria; and Third place – Jose Luis Dominguez.

Kenneth White Jr. High (K-White): First place – Jose De Jesus Dominguez; and Second place – Jacklyn Bernal and Blas Rodriguez.

In the team competition, a 5-on-5 Tournament, the MCISD team placed third in their bracket and consisted of players from MHS, VMHS and K-White.

Players included Julian Rodriguez from K-White Jr. High: VMHS – Sebastian Llamas, Hector Sanchez, Bryan Arrellano, Jesus Torres, Hayleen Peña, Nicolas Juarez, Pedro Treviño and Ethan Linares; MHS –

Armando Sanchez, Frankie Villalobos, Javier Patino, Joel Bravo, Ashley De La Rosa and, out due to injury, Emanuel Casas and Clifford Wheat.

Leave a Comment