Area Obituaries

Death Notices – Week of July 6, 2020

Diane Acevedo MISSION – Diane (Reyna) Acevedo, 64, passed away on Tuesday, June 30, 2020, at her home in Mission. Luis Aguilar ROMA – Luis Garza Aguilar, 74, passed away on Friday, July 3, 2020, at his home. Antonio Aguilera GARCIASVILLE – Antonio Aguilera, 40, passed away on Saturday, July 4, 2020, in Garciasville. Reginaldo…

Read More

Death Notices Week of July 1, 2020

Juan Arjona MISSION – Juan Perez Arjona, 53, passed away on Saturday, June 27, 2020, in Mission. Juanita Contreras PALMHURST – Juanita G. Contreras, 69, passed away on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, in Twin Falls, Idaho. Federico Cortez RIO GRANDE CITY – Federico Ramon Cortez, 94, passed away on Thursday, June 25, 2020, at his…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of June 24, 2020

Apolinar Abonce PEÑITAS – Apolinar David Abonce, 64, passed away on Saturday, June 20, 2020, at Doctors Hospital in Edinburg. Vicente Aguilar PEÑITAS – Vicente Aguilar, 52, passed away on Wednesday, June 17, 2020, at McAllen Medical Center. Michael Balli MISSION – Michael Roland Balli, 58, passed away on Thursday, June 18, 2020, at Mission…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of June 19, 2020

Augusto Acevedo MISSION – Augusto Acevedo, 98, passed away on Monday, June 15, 2020, at Mission Regional Medical Center. Francisco Cavazos PALMVIEW – Francisco Javier Cavazos, 68, passed away on Saturday, June 13, 2020, at McAllen Medical Center. Daniel Conde Sr. Havana – Daniel Conde Sr., 93, passed away on Friday, June 12, 2020, at…

Read More

James A. Schmidt

MISSION – James A. “Jim” Schmidt, 68, of Mission, Texas, formerly of Adams, Neb., passed away on Tuesday, May 19, 2020. Survivors include his daughters, Angela (Joel) Sup and Ashley (Heath) Mannis; granddaughter, Brittney Sup, and another grandchild due in July; sister, Janice (Vince) Goracke; sister-in-law, Beverly Schmidt; former wife, JoAnn Schmidt; special friends, Judy…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of June 12, 2020

Mario Alaniz Jr. RIO GRANDE CITY – Mario Alberto Alaniz Jr., 39, passed away on Saturday, June 6, 2020, in Starr County. Jorge Cadena SULLIVAN CITY – Jorge Antonio Cadena, 43, passed away on Sunday, June 7, 2020, his home in Sullivan City. Sissy Cox MISSION – Sissy Beatriz Cox, 30, passed away on Tuesday,…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of June 3, 2020

Agapito Acosta MISSION – Agapito Acosta, 77, passed away on Sunday, May 31, 2020, at Rio Grande Regional Hospital in McAllen Maria Cabrera GRANJENO – Maria Trinidad Cabrera, 84, passed away on Friday, May 29, 2020, her home in Granjeno. Enrique Cortinas MISSION – Enrique Cortinas, 67, passed away on Sunday, May 30, 2020, at…

Read More

Death notices – Week of May 29, 2020

Jesus Chaverri MISSION – Jesus Pedraza Chaverri, 66, passed away on Monday, May 25, 2020, at Mission Regional Medical Center. Manuel Cruz MISSION – Manuel Cruz, 40, passed away on Monday, May 25, 2020, at Doctors Hospital in Edinburg. Arturo Galvan RIO GRANDE CITY – Arturo Galvan, 80, passed away on Saturday, May 23, 2020,…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of May 22, 2020

Paul Aubin MISSION – Paul Joseph Aubin, 71, passed away on Monday, May 18, 2020, Mission Regional Medical Center. Ninfa Bazan MISSION – Ninfa Bazan, 71, passed away on Wednesday, May 13, 2020, at her home in Mission. Arturo De La Garza MISSION – Arturo De La Garza, 85, passed away on Sunday, May 10,…

Read More

Death Notices – Week of May 15, 2020

Dolores Acevedo MISSION – Dolores D. Acevedo, 76, passed away on Saturday, May 9, 2020, at Mission Regional Medical Center. Olivia Dominguez RIO GRANDE CITY – Olivia Dominguez (Dominguez), 41, passed away on Wednesday, May 6, 2020, at McAllen Heart Hospital. Margarita Escobar RIO GRANDE CITY – Margarita H. Escobar, 84, passed away on Sunday,…

Read More